Portobello Road

I had already been to Portobello Road (I sort of stumbled upon it), but it was 5 o’clock on a Wednesday afternoon. I had expected the famous shopping market praised in movies like Bedknobs and Broomsticks and Notting Hill, but there were only a few knickknack stalls and tired tourists.

I should’ve known better. The weekend, Saturday to be specific, is when the market is in full swing. It is on those days that the stalls stretch for about half a mile, even fanning out on to side streets. It attracts hundreds of people a day and sells everything from food to antiques to vintage clothing to crafts.

To use a cliche, it was all I expected and more. The size of it was astonishing. It was so big that most people stopped half way, so the farther down I got the smaller and more eccentric the stalls became. I was fascinated. I could’ve spent all day there.

As it happens, I think I’ll go back.

 

2 thoughts on “Portobello Road

Leave a Reply

